Purpose of the African Constitution

The African people,

In the states of Sao Tome, Cape Verde, Congo (Kinshasa), South Africa, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Gabon, Togo, Benin, Ghana, Saharawi, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Mauritania, Senegal, Gambia, Nigeria, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Cameroon, Chad, Sudan, Central Africa, Equatorial Guinea, Congo (Brazzaville), Angola, Namibia, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Madagascar, Seychelles, Comoros, Tanzania, Malawi, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Djibouti, Eritrea, Mauritius, Morocco and South Sudan,

Resolved to establish a progressive federal democracy for Africa, fortify and defend the continental borders, secure and develop Africa's natural resources, prescribe the rule of law and guarantee justice, liberty, human rights, opportunity, prosperity and peace for all Africans,

Have enacted this Constitution for the United States of Africa, whose provisions are hereafter contained in Articles 1 through 15.