African Commission

In accordance with Article 4 of the Constitutive Act, which grants the African people participatory power in the African Union, AfricanConstitution.Org is advocating re-establishment of the AU Commission as the African Commission.

It proposes that the name of the Commission of the African Union be changed to the African Commission, which will be the executive branch of the AU and whose commissioners will be one outstanding professional per AU state vetted and elected by the legislature thereof

By a majority vote, the African Parliament will elect a sitting member of the Parliament as the chief secretary of the Commission. He or she must vacate the parliamentary seat upon election to the Commission.